Content: Just Elbow Your Way In

guru logoSo you signed up for Twitter or you finally decided your business should have a page on Facebook.  Now what?

When I talk (okay, evangelize) to people about their Twitter account or Facebook Page I usually get one of two reactions:

The first, admittedly, tends to be more frequent. With the intent of being helpful (not critical just to criticize), I may suggest that they unlink their twitter stream from LinkedIN, or use a square avatar, or, Heaven Forbid, suggest that instead of only tweeting shoutouts they could tweet articles (actual content).

However, I was recently encouraged by the fact that it’s not personal and I am not alone.

Cue quote from Scott Stratten out of his book UNMarketing:

Most business owners who say things like they want to ‘think outside the box’ actually want to do the same things in their box, with better results.

The second look, invariably accompanied by the panic often associated with a deer facing headlights goes something like this:

I have to tweet content?  Why? How? I’m not a writer?

Well, if there’s one thing I know it’s this:

Opinions are like elbows; people have at least two.

What can  you tweet about?  Do you have to write it?  Ugh.  Stage fright overwhelms them like a pandemic.  What I do is reassure them that they do have a lot of content they are already using.

For example, talking to a docent, a physical therapist office, a mechanic, a roofer… I have reminded them all of the vastness of their knowledge.  If they didn’t have this basis of knowledge, they wouldn’t be able to do their job.

For extra credit read Chapter 2 on experts from UNMarketing.  Then read this article: “Don’t Be An Expert, Be A Trusted Advisor For Your Customers“by Flowtown.

Get Started Today:

  • Start a text file (or Microsoft Word if you prefer) and write out bulleted lists of hints, tips, advice, quotes, anything from your repertoire.  You know, the mental script you’re on when you encounter a customer, patient, student, etc.
  • Add content to the file it when you thing of other things or run across helpful quotes or articles.
  • When you are ready to tweet in the morning, you have things already written out (to fall back on).
  • Try doing this for 21 days.  You know it takes that long to form a lasting habit.  I double dog dare you.
“It’s not just knowledge people buy from you, it’s the application of the knowledge for their specific situation.”  Scott Stratten from the Book, UNMarketing
4 thoughts on “Content: Just Elbow Your Way In

  1. I honestly think that this is a spectacular page you got there.
    Do you approve if I like your article on my facebook including the url and title of your post:”Content: Just Elbow Your Way In “?
    I found your website while I was searching
    cartilage earrings and I admit that I am very fortunate for
    doing so.
    Cheers!!
    Our Jewelry for Cartilage Crew

What's your unsolicited advice?

